top of page

Other Orders of Freemasonry

Freemasonry in Hertfordshire today consists of a number of orders eg: The Craft, Holy Royal Arch, Mark Master Masons and Royal Ark Mariners, which have already been discussed previously. There are however, a number of other "orders" which have affiliation to one of more of those listed above. These masonic degrees are as follows:

Also known as the "Knights Templar"

Including the "Order of Holy Wisdom"

Also known as the "Ancient and Accepted Rite Under the Supreme council of the 33rd Degree"

District Grand Council of Hertfordshire

The order meets in St Albans and has done so since 1962.

The District does not currently have a banner. A new Council has been consecrated and with this increase in numbers the district is now considering a banner.

Provincial Grand Conclave of Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire and Hertfordshire

Province of the Chilterns with one Consistory meeting at Letchworth called the Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire and Hertfordshire Consistory No 45

Also known as "The Masonic and Military Order of the Red Cross of Constantine and the Orders of the Holy Sepulchre and of Saint John the Evangelist.

Also known as "Rough Masons, Wallers, Slaters, Paviors, Plaisterers and Bricklayers" or otherwise as "The Operatives".

Also known as "Rosicrucian Society of Freemasons"

In Hertfordshire the order meets in two chapels Graveley No 39 and Clarendon No 75 under the jursidiction of the Province of Greater London.

Otherwise known as "The Grand Court of the Masonic Order of Athelstan in England Wales and its Provinces Overseas"

The Pilgrim Preceptors 

A number of other orders exist within Freemasonry, but as they do not have a presence within Hertfordshire they have not been included in this project.


There are also other orders that relate to Lady Freemasons. However, these are not affiliated to the United Grand Lodge of England. Two Craft Grand Lodges exist: "The Honourable Fraternity of Antient Masonry" otherwise known as the "Order of Women Freemasons" founded in 1908, and the other is called "The Honourable Fraternity of Ancient Freemasons" founded in 1913. The former order includes the Albanus and Byculla lodges both of whom meet in St Albans Masonic centre at Ashwell House. These lodges have banners  which are included within this banner project.


Both of these Grand Lodges have orders similar to the United Grand Lodge of England, ie: Royal Arch, Mark, KT etc 

bottom of page