Cloisters Lodge was founded and named to commemorate the generous gift of 'The Cloisters' buildings and grounds to Freemasonry in 1948 by Miss A Lawrence (1863-1953) of Letchworth. These premises were originally designed as a theological retreat of an evangelical nature. The founders were from the existing Letchworth lodges and in forming Cloisters Lodge, established and strengthened ties between the masonic lodges, related degrees, and this unique masonic home. The crest features the front entrance and illustrates this interesting and now well established masonic centre. The lodge was consecrated on 19th July, 1951.
The banner was presented by W.Bro.Roland Dyson and dedicated 29th May 1963 and lists the Masters up to 1982.